Great Commission Quotes

I am starting a list of Mission Quotes here.

I am not sure where I read the Ralph Winter quote, if it was on a perspectives flyer, touch ten campaign. If anyone knows the exact location and exact wording of that quote please let me know.

“Rather than give me one thousand who have gained a vision for the world, give me one who will keep that vision.” Ralph Winter

“Yours for fulfilling the Great Commission in this generation.”    Bill Bright

“Expect great things from God; attempt great things for God.”      William Carey  in his so-called Deathless Sermon, Isaiah 54:2-3

“Bol, Visu Masih, Ki Jah” – Shout the victory of Jesus Christ!”  John Hyde “Praying Hyde” – Missionary to India – while he lay dying.

No Reserves. No Retreats. No Regrets.   William Borden

I was at Penn State and I saw this big chart and here were generation after generation after generation, up to ten generations. This person led this person to Christ, who lead another and discipled that person, who lead and discipled, and led and discipled, and that’s very rare in America. Overseas where people are not as rushed and have more time to memorize scripture and to be involved in fellowship and discipleship, the generations are dramatically increased. 

Wherever I go I meet people who say that I’m their spiritual father or grandfather, or great grandfather, or great, great, great, great grandfather because of the discipleship emphasis. I was speaking at a breakfast in the Philippines and there was this medical student, Dr. Chen, who had led and discipled another medical student to Christ, and he had discipled another, and another, and another. So, here were all ten of these medical doctors and students standing before this large gathering of hundreds of Christians talking about spiritual multiplication. That’s what Christianity is all about. As a matter of fact, I’ve often reasoned if I led a thousand people to Christ a day for 365 days a year for 50 years that’d be around 18 million people. That’s a lot of people, but through spiritual multiplication and to all glory and praise go to God, not Bill Bright, there are hundreds of millions who have received Christ through people who have been won and discipled, and won and discipled, and won and discipled and that goes on all over the world.  Bill Bright

In spite of sorrow, loss, and pain, Our course be onward still; We sow on Burmah’s barren plain, We reap on Zion’s hill. Adoniram Judson

After you traveled 18,000 miles for the gospel, what about the last 18 inches, actually sharing the gospel with them. Ralph Winter

What is your favorite missions quote?

Photo by OVAN on Pexels.com
This entry was posted in Great Commission, Missions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment